• Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no echo chambers. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! You can also register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account.

When did you really see your planning future?

When did you see your planning future?

• I HAD to hold the AAA triptik on family vacations

Votes: 4 16.7%
  • I was a neighborhood activist

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Dammit, Jim, I'm an engineer, not a planner!

• I had a geography degree and didn't know what else to do

Votes: 3 12.5%
  • I knew I could design a neighborhood I would want to live in

Votes: 2 8.3%
  • On family trips, I made my dad drive all around the cities we visited, while I critiqued their zonin

Votes: 1 4.2%
  • I read famous planner biographies for fun

• I took a class in planning in college and decided this is it!

Votes: 4 16.7%
  • Other, see below

Votes: 10 41.7%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Zoning Goddess

Cyburbian
Occasionally in the threads I see comments like "I guess I was a planner even then " (describing a childhood event). When did you really realize your calling? I'm still a newbie; if this one's been done, let me know!

nerudite

Cyburbian
Four things happened... it was a series of events that lead to me being a planner and not an epiphany for me:

1) My mom was a geography major, so I was teethed on geography/geology. By the age of five I could tell the difference between glacial and river cut valleys when my mom would point one out (this is something she wrote in my baby book)... so that gives you the gist.

2) I was a geography major in college. One of my elective courses was recreation planning. I liked it...