• We're a fun, friendly, and diverse group of planners, placemakers, students, and other folks who found their people here. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! Use your email address, or register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account.

Working in the Middle East

My background - I have a little over 2 years of experience specializing in transportation working for a big huge full service engineering company in a US West Coast metropolis. Recently (within the past 3 months) I've been contacted by recruiters from two other big huge full service engineering companies and in person by the principal of a boutique transportation firm about job opportunities in their Middle East offices, namely in the UAE and Qatar (I have no interest in being in Saudi Arabia).

I'm pretty happy with my job, company, team, and city at the moment and I have no immediate plans to make a move but these are opportunities I think about pursuing in the short to medium term (maybe after this coming New Year's). Working in the Middle East sounds appealing to me for a few reasons - the scale and innovation in development there seems to be of a different order than the sometimes very small changes my team is working with on transportation networks here in the US, and I think I might have great professional experiences. Aside from that, it's appealing in a "what do I want to do with my life" sense - I've lived in the same state for most of my life and haven't traveled outside of North America too much. The idea of spending a few years in a radically different part of the world, meeting people from all over the place, and spending vacation time travelling to parts of the world that are hard to access from where I currently live while I'm relatively young and untethered sounds cool.