• We're a fun, friendly, and diverse group of planners, placemakers, students, and other folks who found their people here. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! Use your email address, or register through your Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account.
  • On Thursday night (2/21), I did something I probably shouldn't have with the server. I lost about 90 posts and three new users in the process. If you registered on Thursday, please re-register. If you posted on Thursday, maybe post twice as much on Friday? Again, I apologize. :(

Zoning boards

Bill Huggins

I am looking for approaches that other jurisdictions take with ex-parte contact issues for Zoning Boards. Our attorney has informed us that staff should not "discourage" such contact by applicants with Board members. He argues that it's a freedom of speech issue, and I simply disagree. I'd like some thoughts and approaches on the issue.

Bill
Aiken, S. C.

Joe Iliff

Reformed City Planner
I'm not a lawyer, but here is my opinion.

It's not so much a free speech issue, as a right to participate issue, right to open government issue. Ex Partie contact can make a Board member prejudiced on an issue before the public hearing starts. The Board should make decisions based on the "evidence" and "testimony" presented in the public hearing on the matter.

Tell your lawyer it's the same as washing out a potential juror on a case where they've gotten a significant amount of knowledge on the case from outside the court, or a sequestered juror being removed for discussing the case with non-jurors. The applicants and the public have the right to have all the "evidence" presented in an open public forum.

I don't know that it's a crime to engage in "free speech" on the issue outside of the hearing, but it could very well invalidate the decision the Board makes if a court believes the contact undermined the open door laws most states have.

Linden Smith

Cyburbian
Bill;